Vacation and The Unemployment Diaries : Prologue

Hello there blog…it’s been awhile; I’ve officially been back in Edmonton for exactly a week now, but my vacation only “technically” ended three days ago. From start to finish it was a great time (we met Bassnectar in the airport and flew on the same plane as him to L.A. if that says anything). I finally saw Disneyland, we were a part of both the Price is Right and Craig Ferguson’s audience, hit Vegas for the first time, and so so much more.

Image

Russ and I at “The Happiest Place On Earth”

I think a few parts of me finally found home in L.A. Every person we met there was lovely, and so open and willing to talk and to offer advice (I will forever be kicking myself for buying into the “loud-mouth American” stereotype). We stayed in a super trendy hotel, The Standard, on Sunset Boulevard, which was rad. The action that we could watch right out of our hotel window was the best part. HollyWeird indeed. I’m so grateful that we were able to go, experience some new things, and to just recharge. There were moments, especially while walking around Disneyland and Vegas, where I felt sort of like I was back at Sham; genuinely happy, and loving all the crazy things there were to see.

Image

“artwork” at our hotel

Image

Santa Monica

Image

Russ strolling the Hollywood Walk of Fame

Image

us on Fremont Street in Vegas

But now, to the Unemployment Diaries part of this whole thing. As I’m sure some of you know, I mentioned in this post that I had just quit my job. Well, I came back from this glorious vacation to no job, and three days after officially coming back to real life, I still am without job. I won’t deny that I am loving it; the last three days have been a combination of getting stuff accomplished, and doing absolutely nothing but enjoying my own time. I don’t know how long this is going to last, but I plan on reaping the benefits while I can (I didn’t choose the home life, the home life chose me ;)). 

What one of my plans is, is to a bi-daily post on here about what I have been doing with my unemployed time. I’ve also been thinking about trying to assign myself a new random topic each week to try and research, so I will potentially be posting my research to this blog each Sunday too. I know this is a lofty goal, but really, other than applying for jobs and maintaining the cleanliness of our house, what else am I going to do? If anyone happens to stumble upon this post and knows of any cool topics I could learn about feel free to comment or whatever. 

I hope everyone has been having a great weekend, and whether you are somewhere hot, or somewhere cold, you are staying nice and comfortable. Thanks for hearing me out on yet another hair-brained scheme, and I’ll be back soon 🙂

Peace!

One comment

  1. If I might why not do a little research on potential careers, see if you truly do want t o go back to post secondary right now or if there is something out there that grabs your interest.
    They say if you find a job you love yo will never “work” a day in your life, now is a great time to find that niche

Leave a comment