The Unemployment Diaries : Getting Out and About

OMG it’s December, and I can’t even wrap my head around it. Since graduating high school, each year has progressively flown faster and faster, and 2013 may have been the fastest yet. 

Soon I won’t be able to blink without missing all 364/5 days. Sheesh, getting old is weird.

Since I was here last, not a whole lot has changed. I finally got around to running some errands like getting my boots fixed, and just today I put up our Christmas tree (its a cute little pink thing; not really sure what I was thinking when I bought it). I also finally found the motivation to create a little camera set up and film a teeny video for the world to see. My accomplishments are small, but definitely satisfying.

Image

a shot of the lil pink tree that could from last year

I’ve had a couple small epiphanies this week too. Something that always seems to be a subject of contention with Russ and I, is how sometimes when he is telling me a story-and I seem like I’m listening- I am really busy being stuck inside my head, thinking and thinking and thinking. I’m sure you can imagine what it’s like telling a whole story, and then finding out later that the person you were telling it to barely absorbed anything (sorry Russ)…

…this week, I discovered what thats like pretty hard. I was telling someone about our trip (they asked me keep in mind), and the whole time I was talking, I didn’t really receive any feedback or followup questions. It felt like I was reciting something from a page, and had no opportunity to really get into it and tell them some of the behind the scenes stories. The person I was telling was upset about something that had happened that day, and it was obvious that they were still stuck on it ; so much so that after I was done telling my story, the upset was brought up again. 

Instead of being upset however, I used that moment to learn a bit of a lesson about myself. While I was thinking “man, I feel like I’m talking for no reason”,  the train of thought that I often do the same thing to other people was started. Everyone does it, but this was one of the first times that I was able to bring it back around and honestly apply it to myself. 

Hopefully being unemployed keeps this trend of realizations going. 

But anyways, that is what I am going to leave you with today. I have chili cooking in the slow cooker (it smells divine), and I’m off to start some bannock to go along with it. Have a lovely sunday evening/monday morning in other parts of the world!! PEACE!!

Leave a Reply

